Intro to 2008







MIT Sloan CIO Symposium
Award for IT Innovation

We congratulate the winner of the inaugural MIT Sloan CIO Symposium Award for IT Innovation, Joseph T. McCartin, SVP & CIO of National City Corporation. 


The MIT Sloan CIO Symposium 2008 Award for IT Innovation is built around a framework that recognizes Chief Information Officers (CIO’s) and Chief Technology Officers (CTO’s) for their innovative leadership qualities, business-technology understanding, and forward-looking out-of the-box thinking in developing and implementing solutions to address ever increasing global business challenges faced by their organizations.


Nominees must hold the title of either CIO or CTO.  In the medical community, the title of Chief Medical Information Officer (CMIO) is also eligible.

Symposium Registration is not required to be an Award nominee but is encouraged.

Application Deadline

While the deadline for receiving a completed application is Wednesday, April 30, 2008 at 5:00 PM Eastern, submitting the completed application as early as possible is strongly encouraged.

Nomination Process

The Award will be publicized via:

  1. The MIT Sloan CIO Symposium website
  2. Direct email
  3. InformationWeek email sent to selected CIO’s on behalf of the Award program
  4. Symposium Panel Captains to approach selected CIO’s in their Industry segment (email/phone)
  5. Press release
  6. All communications to include a link to an online nomination form:

Nominees may be either self-nominated or nominated by another individual.

The following information will be requested:

  1. The nominee or the person who is nominating a CIO/CTO/CMIO needs to provide an email address for all award related communication.
  2. Completed nomination forms must be received by Wednesday, April 30, 2008 at 5:00 PM Eastern.  They can be emailed to [email protected].
  3. The Award administrator will send weekly reminders to nominees to complete their applications.

Award nomination applications will be stored in a private location for distinguished judges for review.

Judges will have the option to audit any claims made in nomination applications. Any nomination found to contain inaccurate information will be disqualified.

Judges may request additional information from the nominee in writing.

The entire judging process will be described at the Award ceremony, to be held during the May 21 luncheon.

Judges will select the Award winner.  All decisions are final.

Award Criteria

The goal of this award is to recognize CIOs for their Leadership in envisioning and executing Innovation in their organizations.  The judges are not looking at which best practices were adapted to meet industry accepted standards or aligning business and technology standard processes but rather what was so different in their approach that added a significant competitive edge over your competitors. Judges will be looking for your innovations from visioning to making it happen.

Phases of the Award Process

Phase 1:  Initial Screening

By four or more distinguished judges, who

Review all applications for completeness

Discard incomplete applications

Qualitatively assess each nominee’s innovation

Rank all nominee applications

Select the top 10 applications from all applications submitted, for further evaluation

Phase 2: Detailed Scoring

Ten Judges will evaluate the selected applications from Phase 1 with the following category weights (%)

Innovation Proposed                                                                       (25%)

Innovation Realization (Tools/Technologies/Processes)        (25%)

 Innovation Results                                                                          (35%)

Future Vision, Professional Recognition, Company                 (15%)

The top five applications based on accumulated scoring by all judges will proceed to Phase 3.

Phase 3: Selection of the Award Winner

A team of four judges will review the top five applications for the Award.

Each of the five finalists will be personally interviewed by the judges.

Judges will select winner with highest score.


Award Winner Announcement

The Award program is part of the MIT Sloan CIO Symposium scheduled to be held on May 21, 2008 on the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) campus, in Cambridge, MA at Kresge Auditorium and nearby buildings.  These buildings are located on the western section of campus, directly across the street from MIT’s main entrance at 77 Massachusetts Avenue.

The Award Ceremony will be held during the luncheon at which all Symposium attendees are invited.  The Master of Ceremonies for the Award program is John Soat, Senior Editor of InformationWeek magazine. InformationWeek is the exclusive Business Media Sponsor of the MIT Sloan CIO Symposium Award for IT Innovation.


All information provided in Award applications will be used strictly by the Judges for the Award process.

InformationWeek may interview Award winners and publish the interviews.

Other members of the Business Media press will be registered and in attendance at the Symposium and may request interviews.  Award activities during the luncheon will be open to them.

For Award-related Questions

Please contact the Award Administrator at [email protected]


Tell us more:

Your Name:  

Your Email:  

Your Phone: 

 Information Requested:

  Send Information on MIT Sloan CIO Symposium 2008 Award for IT Innovation

  Send Award  Nomination Application

  Send Award and Symposium Information to my friend (s) or colleague (s)

      Please provide your Friend/Colleague's contact information:




This event is part of the CXO series produced by the MIT Sloan School of Management and the MIT Sloan Alumni Club of Boston. Please refer your finance colleagues to the MIT Sloan CFO Summit (